Rory Francis O'Brien

The Eve of the Ides of March

Catalogue number: AFB#40
Formats: Tape / Download
Released: 23rd December 2013
Pressing info: 100 clear cassettes
  • 1. Sinking Ship
  • 2. Telling Tails / Hammering Nails
  • 3. Is a Locked Ward
  • 4. Tall Ships
  • 5. Oh Holy Death
  • 6. Burning White Dove
  • 7. Nottamun Town (trad)
  • 8. The Veil

Known better by some as Ten Past Seven’s guitar wielding wild-man, Rory Francis O’Brien’s captivating solo work has come to the fore in recent times, more specifically since developing a fruitful partnership with fellow guitarist James Fortune. Regular shows around Ireland have allowed the two to hone a dark, earthy sound, with Fortune’s electronic layers somehow retaining an organic feel, the perfect foil for O’Brien’s folk-like compositions.

THE EVE OF THE IDES OF MARCH features eight tracks recorded live at Fred Zeppelins, Cork by Joe Cusack on the 14th March. In the summer of 2013 ourselves and Rory came together with a plan to create a physical release of the live recording.

The result is a cassette run of the recording limited to 100 copies, including digital download and housed in a 100% recycled hand-folded card-case, with artwork conceived by Rory himself. In completing the design, he turned his initial drawing over to random punters in Cork’s Gulpd Cafe, each sketching or drawing a panel and to fellow artist Matt Hedigan, also of the bands Elk and No Spill Blood.

cover art Rory Francis O'Brien tape