The Altered Hours

In Heat Not Sorry

Catalogue number: AFB#49
Formats: LP / CD / Download
Released: 29th January 2016
Pressing info: 500 black vinyl
  • 1. Who's Saving Who
  • 2. Way of Sorrow
  • 3. Rotting
  • 4. Silver Leather
  • 5. Birds
  • 6. Saviours
  • 7. Virgin's Sleeve
  • 8. Grey on Blue
  • 9. Citadel
  • 10. Laughing on their Knees

The Altered Hours are a five-piece music group based in Cork City, Ireland.

IN HEAT NOT SORRY is their first full length album, recorded at the Funkhaus studio in Berlin.

Following their work with Fabien Leseure on the Sweet Jelly Roll EP (A Recordings) in 2013, plans were made to further explore the potential for capturing the band's intense live energy. The group returned to Berlin in 2014 and spent three weeks exploring, experimenting and recording with Leseure at the controls.

The project began with a great variety of songs and ideas and from these a direct and cohesive approach with an emphasis on live recording was decided upon.

The resulting ten tracks bring to light the group's evolution since their last EP – starting with a lush psychedelic sound and pushing towards a stark and honest headspace. This album has clearly been influenced by the dismal yet beautiful surroundings of the 1950s Funkhaus studio building, a former DDR radio center. In many ways IN HEAT NOT SORRY'S sound and atmosphere encapsulates the band's ongoing fascination with testing (and sometimes disrupting) that fine balance between tranquility and chaos.

cover art The Altered Hours In Heat Not Sorry